Punk Revival

Last weeked I played a show with PIMPBOT @ Tsunami’s in Waikiki. We were booked to play around 2 am. I admit, I wasn’t really looking forward to playing the show. I was gonna have the “get in and get out” mentality that night so I can go back home and chill w/ the baby momma.

However when I got to the show, my attitude did a 180 flip. I couldn’t believe what I saw. It was an honest to God punk show. I’m talking about everybody looking like shit, shoving each other in the mosh pit, dudes punching each other and getting tossed out of the venue. It was like I stepped into a time machine back to 1998 and I was loving every minute of it. I loved it for NOT being everything I experience nowadays when I play shows.

These days, the bands I see at shows are taking everything so seriously. Making sure their outfit is perfect and that everyone can see their tattoos. Every band talking to each other, pretending to have a casual conversation, when really they are harvesting info for their own band’s gain.

Maybe it’s just me, but I didn’t really feel all of this when I played shows in the punk scene in the 90’s. There weren’t cliques that you had to belong to in order to get shows.

I was disgusted at this show I played a month ago. It was all serious bands, with managers and they all somewhat regularly tour outside of Hawaii. There’s nothing wrong with being a serious band but the mood seemed so tense like it was a battle of the bands… with no prize. For real, I could almost see the lines drawn in the crowd. People would specifically cheer for one band and NOT cheer for the other and just stand there, plain faced. I felt bad, but I kinda lost it and called the crowd a bunch of pussies for their behavior. I mean, crowds act like that in LA but there’s no room for that jaded crap here.

What I felt at last weekend’s punk show was a feeling that I’m guilty of neglecting in my life. Doing it for the music. The crowds were pretty much the same for every band that played. Why? Because they all just wanted some honest punk music to aimlessly wobble around to. Plus the bands just wanted some honest punks to aimlessly wobble around to their tunes. It wasn’t about trying to get more fans on myspace or facebook. It wasn’t about voting for them for some bullshit scene award or a website contest. It was indeed about the music that night. To feel good. To let the music take control of your actions. An organic give and take.

At 3:30am I left the show feeling energized and rejuvenated. I spoke to all my band mates and they all had a hard time sleeping that night because of the raw energy we all took home with us. That’s how I know it wasn’t just me feeling all of this. It was real.

Leave a Reply

