Beer Pong on the Jay Leno Show? Really?

I first saw this a few nights ago.  Jay Leno’s Beer Pong Shot of the Week or something to that effect.  Don’t get me wrong, I can appreciate the skill used in beer pong.  I just felt that it didn’t fit into the typical audience of the Jay Leno Show.  His luke warm “Primetime Band” and his brand of safe humor make it obvious that he’s trying to run a modern day variety family program.  Bringing in the Beer Pong Shot of the Week seems like a desperate attempt to get a college audience.

I’m thinking if he wants a family show, he should just stick to his 10yr old humor and try not to please EVERYBODY.  For people in the 18-35 key demo that want real comedy, they’ll watch The Tonight Show with Conan O’Brien, plain and simple.

I searched online for any articles that may share my point of view and I might be alone on this one.  All the articles I found that cited displeasure of Jay Leno’s beer pong feature made the argument about the fact that the Beer Pong Shot of the Week shouldn’t have the words beer pong because that’s not actually how the game is played.  According to Wikipedia, the official rules of beer pong are:

“Players throw a ping-pong ball across a table with the intent of landing the ball in a cup of beer on the other end. The game typically consists of two two-player teams and multiple cups set up on each side set up in triangle formation. There are no official rules, so rules may vary widely, though usually there are six or ten plastic cups arranged in a triangle on each side.”

To be honest, I can respect the sport but I’m not a big fan of drinking games.  I think I drink without a game telling me when to drink.  For me, drinking games slow down my drinking.  For people that wanna drink fast, just join a band… no cups or ping pong ball needed.

However for you tone deaf athletes, I’ll leave you with this shot technique chart.  Again, courtesy of Wikipedia… the root of all knowledge.

6 comments

  1. Do you win money when you “drink fast”? I think 50 grand 2 years in a row is enough reason for me to drink when a game tells me to. We don’t do it for the beer, we do it for the money.

  2. […] I was grinning from ear to ear when Conan O’Brien came in and took the reigns.  Max Weinberg brought the prestige back to The Tonight Show Band and Conan brought in a humor that was modern and razor sharp.  Whenever I’d try to stomach the Jay Leno Show, I would be appalled at the way he’d desperately try to get new audiences.  When I saw him do Beer Pong Shot of the Week, it was just sad.  Who wants to see a gray haired dude talk about beer pong?  I actually wrote a blog about the lameness of that stunt before this whole Jay vs Conan debacle and you can read it here. […]

Leave a Reply

