Cast of Iron Man 2 – poor choices?

I got to see Iron Man 2 this morning, thanks to my buddy that took me along to his company family day at the movies.  Yeah, we showed up late and I had to sit in the lonely seat – the one between two wheelchair slots – but at least I was able to see a blockbuster movie at a discounted rate on its opening weekend.

Iron Man 2 poster

I don’t wanna give the movie away and spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet.  I’ll just say that if you liked the first Iron Man, the second will not disappoint.  That is… unless you were attached to the cast.

Terrence Howard as Lt. Col. James "Rhodey" Rhodes
Don Cheadle as Lt. Col. James "Rhodey" Rhodes

Terrence Howard was replaced by Don Cheadle for the role of Lt. Col. James “Rhodey” Rhodes.  I was bummed when I realized Howard was nowhere to be found in the sequel.  In a previous blog post titled “Ike Turner, Joseph Jackson or David Ruffin,” I talk about how I was a fan of The Jacksons: An American Dream.  Howard played a great Jackie Jackson in that film and he played a kick ass “Rhodey” in Iron Man.  Personally, I don’t think Robert Downey Jr had nearly as much chemistry onscreen with Cheadle compared to his performance with Howard.  I didn’t feel the same type of bond in this sequel.

Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow

Emily Blunt was originally cast to play Black Widow but was replaced by Scarlett Johansson.  I can’t imagine Blunt performing any better than Johansson in this film.  In my opinion, she knocked it right outta the park.  Her performance was only to be shadowed by Robert Downey Jr but of course, that is to be expected.

Sam Rockwell as Justin Hammer

Sam Rockwell was another pleasant addition to the cast to fill in the sequel’s villainy.  I have always been a fan of his since seeing his role as Rob the 1996 coming of age film, Glory Daze.  In Iron Man 2, he plays the wannabe weapons expert, Justin Hammer.  He dances around the fine line of being “irritating enough.”  I’m also looking forward to his other 2010 release, Betty Anne Waters.

Besides these casting issues, Iron Man 2 delivers its signature action scenes while also exploring the depth of Tony Stark.  If the theater prices are too high for ya, I would definitely pick it up on DVD.

Leave a Reply

