Dinner for Schmucks Movie Review

Last night I went to an advanced screening of Dinner for Schmucks, a comedy starring Steve Carell, Paul Rudd and Zach Galifianakis.

In Theaters July 30

Flight of the Conchords fans will be pleased to see some familiar faces.  Jemaine Clement plays an eccentric artist driven by his primal sexual instinct.  Kristen Schaal plays an assistant to Paul Rudd’s character.

The onscreen relationship between Rudd and Carell is similar to that of Rudd and Jason Segel in I Love You, Man.  Don’t let that discourage you though.  Rudd has found his niche playing a great straight man in comedy and there’s nothing wrong with that.  As far as laughter level this film rivals another Rudd film, Role Models.  Comparing the two films, audiences may like the story in Role Models more but Dinner for Schmucks edges out the competition with its winning dialogue.  I’m going to have to watch this again because there were several lines that I missed due to the deafening laughter bouncing from the theater’s walls.

Lola Pacheco at the Dole Cannery 18-Plex

This screening was special for me because it was my daughter’s first movie.  I was amazed at how well behaved a 4 month old can be in a theater.  There were times I almost forgot she was there.  She was staring at the screen right along with me.  Therefore, I feel it would be appropriate for her to finish up this review with her own “words.”  I had her sit up to my keyboard and do some typing.

So without further adieu, here is the conclusion to the review by my daughter, Lola Pacheco:

ybm    j  h        vß sx bfv  xxzz  b                            whbhbb          vgfcbf     cxxxxdx
s         v              fvssvb v b    bcv g  c 4rfv
bbbbbbbbbb

ybm    j  h        vß sx bfv  xxzz  b                            whbhbb          vgfcbf     cxxxxdx           s         v              fvssvb v b    bcv g  c 4rfv

bbbbbbbbbb

– Lola Pacheco

Leave a Reply

