This Movie Always Gets to Me

Dot and the Kangaroo

I admit, I probably haven’t seen this movie in at least 25 years but I don’t ever recall crying so hard as I did when I watched 1977’s Dot and the Kangaroo.

I’m guessing I was charmed by the childlike voice of Barbara Frawley as she befriended a wild animal just as I played with many stray animals in my youth.

My tear-filled eyes remember the Aussie film ending with the animated Kangaroo hopping away in a live-action forest. Those tears revisited decades later as I came home to an empty room after an ex-girlfriend took my DVD collection and only left my DVD copy of Dot and the Kangaroo that I found in the dollar bin at Wal-Mart.

I’ve contemplated watching the film from time to time but every time I see the DVD case sitting on my shelf, I keep thinking of that bitch who took my Spinal Tap DVD.

Again… tears.

Cover of
Cover of This is Spinal Tap (Special Edition)

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

