Ol’ Skool Cap’n Crunch

Like any ordinary trip to the grocery store, my family and I took a stroll down the cereal aisle.  Since we get federal aid for our groceries (WIC) we usually get generic cereal that’s on the program’s approved list.  However I often look at my old favorites on the shelf, just for kicks (not Kix).

When it came to cutting the roof of my mouth every morning, my weapon of choice was always Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch.  This flavor of the popular cereal first hit grocery shelves in 1969 and has been sold solid ever since.  I’ve haven’t seen much variance in the design on the front of the orange box (with the exception of the new toy being offered inside) until today.

Retro Cap'n Boxes

Somehow the font and Cap’n look even cooler from how I remembered and my knowledge of pop culture gave me the inclination that Quaker Oats took the design to an ol’ skool flavah – to perhaps the 60’s or early 70’s.  I did some research and sure enough, capncrunch.com confirmed that this reach back to the genesis is called Retro Crunch, featuring limited edition vintage packaging.

This original imaging of the Cap’n was designed by Jay Ward, who also produced the first Cap’n Crunch television commercial, which aired in 1963.  The Cap’n was voiced by Daws Butler, which to me sounded similar to Mr. Magoo.  However Butler is known most notably for voicing Yogi Bear, Snagglepuss, Elroy Jetson, Huckleberry Hound, and Quick Draw McGraw, amongst others.

From Cap'n Crunch's 1st Commercial (1963)

Perhaps one day when I feel like splurging, I’ll shell out the 3 dollars and 99 cents.  Then and only then will I reunite with the Cap’n and sail together once again on the S.S. Minnow.

Leave a Reply

