Brain Buster: Quantum Leap Theme Song

Dean Stockwell (left) and Scott Bakula (right)...
Image via Wikipedia

Over this past weekend, my saxophonist in PIMPBOT leaned over to me and said “Hey, you know what song we should learn?  The theme song to Quantum Leap.”  My first reaction was to wonder whether or not he was joking.  However that factor was quickly dismissed as I realized I had no idea how the song went.

I tried clearing my mind out completely to make room for any vagrant memory to trigger some retro playback action in my head.  To this moment, the two songs I keep hearing in my head are the theme to MacGyver and Doogie Howser, MD.  I explained this brain freeze to my saxophonist and he said “well, it’s kinda like those songs.”

By now you are probably wondering why I won’t just hop on over to youtube and listen to the dozens of bad recordings probably uploaded by users all over the globe that have way too much time on their hands.  It is the same reason why some men won’t ask for directions… pride.  I take serious pride in my knowledge of late 80’s/early 90’s pop culture.

Hoping to jog my memory without totally cheating, I researched the theme song’s composer.  In hopes that perhaps the composer was maybe famous for writing another theme song exactly like Quantum Leap’s, I discovered the tune in question was composed by TV hit-maker, Mike Post.

Post is a legend in the TV theme biz.  He belted out classics like the theme to The A-Team, Law & Order, Magnum, P.I. and Doogie Howser, MD.  Honestly I was a little relieved the Doogie theme is in his library, proving that I’m not crazy and perhaps a little “warm” in guessing how the Quantum Leap theme song goes.  However the his other TV hits are too familiar in their own right to trigger a memory of the brain busting theme.

I’ll be giving myself one week to figure it out before admitting defeat.  At which point, I will sulk on over to youtube and hit myself on the forehead with my computer mouse.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

